LOST and gone, but not forever

24 May

Sunday was a long day full of mixed emotions and reluctant goodbyes. Grant and I had our usual LOSTies (minus Hannah) over for an all-day LOST fest. We had lots of themed foods to munch on, as well as Dharma beer and tropical cocktails. We re-watched favorite episodes and discussed our hopes and predictions for the finale. But was the finale everything we wanted it to be? I’d have to say no—and yes!

SPOILER ALERT!!! DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVEN’T SEEN THE FINALE!

In “The End”, we realized that the sideways reality wasn’t actually reality at all. It was a kind of limbo created by the consciousness of all the characters who had once been so important to each others’ lives. They met again in the afterlife in order to finally move on to the next “place”, perhaps we could call it heaven. As Christian Shephard puts it to Jack in the last scene, trying to understand it in physical terms of time and space is not possible. But everything that happened on the island (and off the island in an attempt to get back) was real and true destiny. It was the most important time of their lives. The way things were left on the island was my favorite part! Hurley is chosen to take care of the island and Ben becomes his right-hand man, while Jack dies in the same place where he first woke up to the island years (and seemingly lifetimes) before. It was quite the poetic ending, and beautifully done in my opinion. How sweet was Vincent as he lay next to Jack, making sure that he didn’t die alone? (Oh lord, tears are welling up as I type this!)

I’m sad to see the show end; that in itself is the only disappointment. Sure, the writers could have given us more, but how can we possibly expect concrete answers from a television show that has only given us abstract ideas from its start. And if you aren’t discussing your own interpretations of the end and everything leading up to it, I’m not sure why you were watching in the first place. It’s the depth of each character and the relationships between them that I will always remember, and I am happy that everyone was reunited, even if it was in death. For me, LOST is not gone forever because I have been infinitely impacted by the characters and story and because I share so many memories of watching and discussing with my favorite LOSTies. It also helps that I own every episode on DVD to rewatch whenever I like. And believe me—I will!

For more photos from our LOST party, visit my Facebook album.

6 Responses to “LOST and gone, but not forever”

  1. Grant May 25, 2010 at 9:46 AM #

    i loved your incite on Jack’s last moment with Vincent. It’s so beautiful and sad. However, you might want to add a giant spoiler warning on here for peeps who haven’t seen it yet.

  2. Megan May 28, 2010 at 8:24 AM #

    It took me about a day, maybe more, and even some discussions in the morning with Joey (I was actually late to work on Tues. because of this) to digest and really get a feel for how I interpreted/how I felt about the “The End”. The more I think about it and after I went back and watched it a second time, the more I love it. Although it’s hard to see this brilliant show end — in my opinion (after having formed it), the show couldn’t have closed the story-line any better. I will miss it terribly, but, like you, I will definitely be revisiting the whole series over and over. Here’s an excellent pod-cast you should check out if you haven’t already:

    http://tv.insidepulse.com/2010/05/25/iptv-lostcast-4-lost-series-finale-discussion-dissenting-opinions/

    Now, time for Mad Men to start up it’s 4th season!

  3. Megan May 28, 2010 at 8:25 AM #

    oh, and p.s. – your LOST party looks like it Rocked!

  4. Shannon of ** Happiness Is...** June 2, 2010 at 3:23 PM #

    I FEEL you. You’re a kindred spirit with this post ๐Ÿ™‚ xo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. summertime grillin’ « I dig a pony - June 7, 2010

    […] with mango salsa! Grant and I first tried this recipe because we thought it to be perfect for our LOST finale potluck. We loved it so much that we made it again this past Friday night, coupled with a fresh […]

Leave a comment