one incredible month, one very long post

11 Oct

So much has been going on in the past month, and I have had absolutely no opportunity to blog. Most of that can be attributed to the fact that Grant and I moved to a new house and were without internet for about two weeks. Now, in my last hour of fall break, I will attempt to catch you up through words and pictures, and I’m promising myself to get back on my regular blogging schedule of a couple posts a week.

Since the last post from Karen’s bachelorette party, a lot has happened in wedding world. I, along with Grace and Anna, threw Karen and Zack a lovely little wedding shower. I am so proud of the planning we did together and all that we got accomplished for what I feel was a very memorable event for K&Z and both their families. We got tons of help from other friends too, as we can always count on them to come through when we need them (especially for party’s sake). I think I cried more that night, over sentimental toasts and abundant feelings of friendship and love, than I did at the wedding!

I also want to share (or rather boast about) the super cool Tennessee cheese board (with a heart on Memphis) that Grant and I got for K&Z, mostly as a shout-out to the makers, AHeirloom on Etsy. I must also add that I found the idea on one of my favorite blogs, Happiness Is…, and knew instantly that it would be perfect for Memphis’ cutest couple. In fact, K&Z used the same motif on the mix CD covers handed out as “thank you” favors, designed (along with the invites) by my talented friends Hannah and Drew of Made by Good.

 

photo by Karen

 

 

photo by Karen

 

Karen’s and Zack’s wedding, which took place on 10-9-10 (also the 70th birthday of my hero, John Lennon), was just perfect! The entire day was one big fun fest, shopping and doing hair and makeup with Hannah and Tess, then hanging out with our boys Grant (who looked super handsome in his new suit), Drew, and John before we headed out for the Lichterman Nature Center. From the handmade decor, bluegrass band, Tennessee Lemonade, and delicious cake to the all-night dance party DJ’d by Kerry of I Love Memphis, it couldn’t have turned out any better. We all had a wonderful time, as this photo by wedding photographer, Melissa Sweazy, so beautifully conveys. I can’t wait to see more photos!

 

photo by Melissa Sweazy, via Thoroughly Modern Medusa

 

On the day after the wedding, I ran my first 5k! OK, this wasn’t a very serious race, but I am proud of myself anyhow. LUVMUD took place at Shelby Farms and included six obstacle courses, ending with a giant pool of mud that we had to crawl through. Everyone dressed up in costumes and participated individually or in teams. Although we didn’t make it in time for the costume contest, I’m quite sure that Anna and I would’ve had a shot at winning. We got loads of attention as everyone’s favorite princess-saving duo, Mario & Luigi, including a personal pep talk by the MC right before we began and other runners singing our “theme song” throughout the course! I loved every sweaty, panting moment of it!

 

Saving the Princess!

 

As I mentioned before, we moved to a new house, a home all to ourselves, where Maya has a HUGE backyard to play in. We are still settling in and have lots more to do, but we are really happy and enjoying every moment together..

 

Sunny, enjoying his new favorite spot among the moving chaos

 

I’m very slowly working on my master’s thesis, and now that the big wedding is over, I shouldn’t have anymore excuse to be lagging behind. Well, except that MY AUBURN TIGERS ARE UNDEFEATED and ranked #7 in the nation! Saturdays are blocked out for the next several weeks, but we’ll see if I can be productive the rest of the week.

Look for upcoming posts on fall festivities, newly found and tried recipes, and more photos of student artwork!

Leave a comment